Weekly Run Report – April 20 – 26, 2015

One of the many things I love so much about using Smashrun.com is statistics.  I love the numbers.  At the end of each week they send you a weekly running report with interesting information about your running week.  The best part is all I have to do is go on their site and click the sync button and it syncs with my Garmin account so I don’t have to do anything for all the statistical data.  Cough*run nerd*cough.  It’s true.  I’m a run nerd.  Give me all the data and in at least two forms, thank you!

Weekly Recap - April 20 - 26 1

Smash Run tells me what days I ran, how many more miles I ran this week over last week, how many miles I ran and my fastest average pace.  Love that green + for percentage additional ran over last week.  When it’s red, I’m not very happy with myself.  But some times it’s red and I have to just deal with it.  And hopefully learn from it.

Weekly Recap - April 20 - 26 2

Total time spent running:  3 hours.  Might seem like a lot but it didn’t feel like it.  I ran on four different days to accumulate that 3 hours and it was only 13% of a day.  It’s nothing but it means so much to my general well-being and over all health.  Total calories burned doesn’t mean much to me.  I don’t run for the calorie burn but I do love to see what the food equivalent of those calories could have been even if it’s stuff that I wouldn’t normally eat anyway.

Weekly Recap - April 20 - 26

This one is my favorite.  I love seeing those runs with their average pace.  You can tell on Saturday I went to running group and since I was the only one actually running, I got paced by the coach.  9:50 average!  Get it, girl!  But in defense of those 10+ minute mines, it was very windy last week.

I’ve been avoiding running in the wind because I hate it and it’s hard  but I’m realizing that I need to embrace the suck.  The wind might slow me down but it will make me stronger.  And I live in the delta where the wind blows a lot.  The motto for this year is Injury Free in 2015 and Embrace the Suck!

In other running news, I ran my first virtual 10k.  And my second 10k ever.  I totally Embraced the Suck for this one.  I got up on Sunday morning, had some breakfast and went out for my run.  I’m trying not to do a lot of back to back running this year to hopefully avoid any injuries.  But I didn’t want to miss running group on Saturday, so I ran back to back on Saturday and Sunday to get my virtual 10k in.

The 10k was tough.  While the wind wasn’t very light for the first half, it picked up for the second half and in my infinite wisdom I chose a route that didn’t have a lot of shade.  The sun can really sap my strength.  But I finished in 1:04:33 which is about 4 minutes slower than my first every (and only) 10k 4 years ago where I finished in 1:00:52.  But in my defense that one was run at optimal temperatures with some rain tossed in to keep it cool.  The colder it is, the fast I go.  It’s all about personal preservation people!

Log Off and Run 10k

This was my first ever virtual race.  If you’ve never done one, what it basically is is all the swag from a regular race; t-shirt, bib and this case medal, but you run it on your schedule within the dates provided by the race organizer.  The meal was pretty cool.  Plus it was fun knowing that I was running with about 1000 other people from the world over.  Check out the instagram hashtag #logoffrace for a lot of cool race pictures.

Have you ever ran a virtual race?

Do you every have to remind yourself to embrace the suck?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Run Report – April 20 – 26, 2015

    1. Some times it’s best to just go with the flow than fight against it. The virtual race was cool but I missed actual racing. But I’m running a 5 mile race next weekend so I think I’ll be ok! lol

    1. Me too. I missed the race part of it. It just felt like a regular long run, not the super excited, feed off the other racers, run for your life race like I’m used to. I’m not sure I’d do another but never say never!

Leave a Reply

