Heaven Help Me, I Signed Up for Another…

Do you ever wake up in the morning and suddenly decide that you’re going to take on a challenge that you’d normally avoid?  Say picking a race that’s known for being very hilly?  Even has a hill known as “The Beast”?  Does this happen to anyone else?  No?  Hmmm.

Fair Oaks Sun Run

Yesterday before my work day went totally crazy, I decided to sign up for the Fair Oaks Sun Run aka The Chicken Run.  Based off the course elevation map, I’ve clearly lost my mind.  Especially since I complained about the hills during the SacTown 10 – 5 Mile.

Fair Oaks Sun Run 1

Look at that elevation map!  Those hill names are scary but I’m committed now!  I payed my money and on Sunday May 3rd, I’ll pay the real price.  I’ve got two weeks to mentally prepare myself for this.

I don’t really have  a goal for this race.  Due to the hills, my main goal is to run them all especially The Beast and enjoy myself.  But in addition to the hills this race is also part road and part dirt track which I’ve never raced before.  I’ve run dirt but never raced it.  I’d like to come in with any time under 60 minutes but if I don’t, I don’t.  My race goals for this year are simple, have fun.

I’ll be a hill expert after this race!

 

2 thoughts on “Heaven Help Me, I Signed Up for Another…

Leave a Reply

