What’s Next…

I’ve been spending most of my time working on my race schedule for this year.  I’d like to try to race once a month, mostly shorter distances with at least 1 half marathon.

Tenative Schedule for 2015
tentative Schedule for 2015

I’ve already run the Running of the Elk and I’m registered for SacTown 10.  But all the others are tentative.  A couple of months have more than one race but as the date get’s closer I’ll pick one.  Some will get weeded out as being too far away.

I'm in!
I’m in!

But I did go ahead and sign up for the Folsom Blues Breakout.  I really wanted to run this last year but due to my injuries and I passed up registering for it.  I’m only planning on picking one half marathon this year and I really want to do this one.  It’s a great course that’s relatively close to us and it’s mostly down hill.  I’m hoping for a new PR but if not, I’m looking forward to just enjoying the day.  Summer training for this one is going to hurt but I’m looking at joining a training group for it just as a way to stay on track.  I already know from past experience that I can train sucessfully on my own but I’d also like to meet people who also enjoy running like I do.  I have tons of “on-line” friends but none are really local or train at my pace.  Maybe my new best friend is in this group and we just haven’t met yet.

Trying to find a race for August was difficult.  There isn’t much that’s offered close to home for that month.  I’m assuming it’s because of the heat.  I might add a destination race for that month if I can.  I’m thinking something Central Coast.  Morrow Bay or Santa Cruz if they have something going.  August is also Hubbs birthday month so I have to make sure that I’m not planning anything that will interfere with his birthday celebration.

I also have no race for December.  I guess that it’s so far out that not a lot of planning is complete yet for that month.  I’m sure as it get’s closer, I’ll be able to find some kind of Christmas themed race or fun run.

Do you plan out your race calendar? Or are you a go with the flow, whatever catches your fancy kind of runner?

6 thoughts on “What’s Next…

  1. Oof, August races are tough to find around here. How do you feel about trails? It looks like there’s a trail race at Montana de Oro on 8-1-15. I just heard about it so I am not clear on all the details. I generally plan races a few months in advance but I like to register super late too.

  2. My August favorites are Santa Rosa Marathon (which has a 5K), Water to Wine in Sonoma County (though I think that’s only a half), & Brazen Summer Breeze in San Leandro (5K, 10K, & half). Good luck finding one you’re excited about!

Leave a Reply

