On The Morrow We Race!

Well, not the  morrow but Sunday, Sunday, Sunday.

Running of the Elks - 2015

I ran the half last year but this year I registered for the 5k.  I’m nowhere near in half marathon shape.  I’ve had a mental block for running any further than a 5k but yesterday I finally broke and ran 3.5 miles.

03-25-15 Run

It was a slow run but I had negative splits and I finally beat that block.

03-25-15 Splits

I’m some what apprehensive about racing.  I tend to be this way at any race but right now I’m concerned about just finishing it without killing myself.  My block  has mostly been due to concern in regards to injuring myself again.  The goal for this year is to be injury free so I’m working on getting stronger in all regards.

I’ve also lost a lot of stamina after being off for the last few months.  The huffing and puffing that goes on with my running currently is awful.  I’m pretty sure people think I’m going to have a heart attack and die.  But so far, I’ve survived.

I have no time goal for this race.  No pace.  No plan.  I just want to finish and set a base line for myself.  If you’re in the Sacramento area, come out and cheer for the 5k, 10k and half marathoners.  It’s going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

