Getting Race Ready…

IMG_20141120_172012

I’m doing laundry and trying to prep myself for a race that idea looking like it’s going to be wet and cold on Saturday. Fingers crossed that my shin splints are going to be ready for me to run…even if they’re not, I’m still running so they better get ready.  With any luck I’ll stick with the 2:15 pace group.  If not, I hope to not be far  behind.  As long as I can finish, I’m happy.

I haven’t run in 5 days.  I’m pretty sure that the only reason I’m still sane at this point is because I’ve done everything possible to stay super busy.  I’ve cleaned my kitchen and my dinning room from top to bottom, did the floors and ran the vacuum cleaner.  I took the dogs to the vet and dyed my hair.  Today is the first day that I haven’t been going non-stop.  It feels good to rest but it’s also giving me time to think about the things that could go wrong and it’s making me nervous.  I’m trying not to dwell.

Tomorrow is race packet pick up day.  I’m planning to head over to Fleet Feet Davis after work.  One bonus of having a job with non-traditional hours is that I can avoid most of the traffic.  I like that part but other than that I hate going to Davis.  It’s alway impossible to find parking and since it’s a college town there are bicycles every where.  I’m afraid of driving where there’s a lot of bikes.  I’m scared I won’t see them and hurt someone.  But I’m willing to risk it because race packet pick up in Davis also means Dutch Brothers Coffee.  I always treat myself to a cup anytime I’m in Davis.  And with this weather it will be a real treat.

Cross your fingers for me, I’m racing on Saturday!

Anyone else racing this weekend?

What’s your favorite run brag?  The time you got a new PR when you didn’t expect it?  Running a favorite race?  Disney?

Leave a Reply

