I Broke It…

I broke it.  After something like 56 days of daily running, I broke my streak yesterday.  My half is coming up this Saturday and my shin splints are making life really difficult.  I’m in pain every day from it and I decided that it was time to break the streak and actually rest my legs.

On one hand I’m really bummed about breaking the streak because I’d put a lot of work into.  On the other I’m trying to think long-term and do what’s best for my body.  At this point, I’m feeling like my half might not even happen…But to be honest about it, I’m burned out on running.  I don’t feel like running anymore.  I spent most of my weekend lying around and watching TV, which is something that I don’t do a whole lot.

Generally on Saturday morning, I’m happy to get up and do my long run.  I love that time I get to spend with no distractions (even on the tough days) and the feeling after I finish is heaven.  But this Saturday, I didn’t want to run and only dragged myself out of the family around at about 6pm to run a single mile.

Sunday was basically the same thing.  My shins were hurting and I’m limping even just walking around the house.  So I finally decided to talk to my husband about it, he provides good prospective on stuff like this even though he’s not a runner.  He asked me the question that I’ve been trying not to focus on, is my half going to happen?  At this point I don’t know.  I’m going to do my best to rest, ice, compress and elevate all week but honestly…I just don’t know.

I’m really hoping that I can just wait this out and by Saturday I’ll be fine.  If not, I’m going to call it and pick up my race packet.  I wish they offered deferment but since that’s not the case, at lease I can get my very expensive t-shirt.  But I really want to add a 3rd Half medal to my collection for this year.  I’ve worked so hard to come back from my groin pull (which has been fine) and I need this for my brain.  But for now, I’m going to leave it up in the air.  It will be what it will be.

Weekly recap for 11/10 – 11/16/2014

Weekly Recap - 11-10 - 11-16

Total miles run:  21.2

Percentage from last week: -28.1%

Have you ever been sidelined from a race due to injury?  If I don’t run this race this will be my second race this year where I was sidelined from a race.  The first was a Half Marathon in Lodi in May.  Plus a couple of years ago I was sidelined from a half when I tripped over my dog two weeks prior to the Parkway Half in April 2012, sprained my ankle and then didn’t run again until February of 2014 due to extreme laziness.

Leave a Reply

