I’m a horrible sick person…

It’s true. I’m a horrible sick person. I whine, I cry, I act like my little head cold is Ebola. I’m a sissy, a wussy. I cry more than a person who’s been hospitalized.

Sick in Bed

I also won’t stay in bed, stay home from work or not run.  I’m a doctors worst nightmare.

Last Thursday I was feeling a little off and chalked it up to draining sinuses.  But as it turned out I was at the beginning edge of a full-blown head cold.  I was going to call in sick to work on Friday but it was graduation day for the latest set of cadets and being that I issue the badges, I had to be there.  As soon as it was done I went home…and ran.  I couldn’t help it, I’m streaking and I didn’t want to let the streak go.  So I did a quick mile and went home, showered and was in my jammies by 12:15.

I ran Saturday and Sunday too.  But again, it was shower and then in to jammies.  I mostly slept both days which is a nice change.  I haven’t been getting enough sleep over the last couple of weeks  which I’m sure contributed to me getting sick.  Not to mention running at 4am in 45 degree weather (in shorts).  I was supposed to run 12 miles on Saturday per my training schedule but I decided that in the long run it wasn’t a good idea.  So I ran two miles and called it good.  Trying to look at the big picture…

So here it is Wednesday and I’m still sick.  I’m getting a little bit better everyday but still not feeling myself.  I’m drinking gallons of tea while I’m at work and eating as best I can.  But I’m pretty sure my main food groups are yogurt and cough drops.  But even with all the tea, I can tell I’m dehydrated.  My lips are so dry and rough, I wouldn’t want to kiss me…and my hubby won’t.  He’s either afraid I’m going to give him Ebola or he’s thinking of divorce.  Either way, I can’t blame him.  I’m still pretty gross at this point.  I keep making that gross noise where you try to clear out your sinuses…not attractive.

I can’t wait to feel better.  I was scheduled to run 12 miles last weekend and I have a 13 mile run on the schedule for this weekend.  At this point, I’m not sure if either of those runs are going to happen.  My next half is two and a half weeks away.  I know that even if I don’t get a 12 or a 13 mile run under my belt, that I will still be able to complete the half.  But I will feel a lot better about it if I can get at least one more long run under my belt.  My goal for the next half is to beat my old PR that  I got at the Modesto Half Marathon back in March.  I just need to have an average mile time of less than 10:30/mile.  Most of my long runs have been averaging under that time during this training cycle, so I’m feeling confident about it.  I just have to get rid of this cold.

Weekly Recap for 10/27 – 11/2/14

Oct - Nov Miles

My longest run was a 5k last week but at least most of my short runs had average paces under 10.

On top of being sick last week the time changed.  We also had a “cold” spell here which means that I’ve been able to change my morning runs to evening runs.  But it also means that I’m still running in the dark.  I do not like running in the dark.  It makes a mile feel so much longer to me some times.  My goal for today is to get out by 4pm to run.   Fingers crossed.

6 thoughts on “I’m a horrible sick person…

  1. Oh no! Have you been to the doc? Perhaps you have a sinus infection. I had my first about 2 years ago and couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t shake my cold. 24 hours after antibiotics I improved greatly.

  2. Oh no! I’m sorry to hear that you’re sick, but it’s honestly best if you get some rest! Otherwise, you can prolong your sickness! I’ve been sick (a couple times, actually. I think I had a sinus infection too) during my training, and I was stubborn myself… but after a good rest, you really feel the difference. You won’t lose your fitness that quick, especially if you’ve been consistent! Either way you decide, I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

