By the Numbers…

I love statistic.  Numbers say a lot to me and as such I love SmashRun.com  If you haven’t checked it out, you should.  It’s free and it gives you lots of stats from your run and you can sync your Garmin account to it so you don’t even have to manually enter anything.  Love it.

October Miles

I know that October is not quite over with 2 more days to go but I’m loving my status for the month.  I’ve been #Streakingwiththecoolkids and Pink Cupcake Girl.  If you haven’t checked out her blog, you totally should.  The girl is hard-core and totally fun.

With 2 more days to go, I figure I’ll be somewhere about 123 miles for the month.  Long runs are done so it’s just a two miler and a 3 miler left.  It’s been tough a few times to get myself out of bed to get all these miles but I feel super awesome knowing that I’ve run every single day and every single mile was mile.  It’s an amazing feeling.

My last long run for the month of October was last Saturday.  The forecast was calling for rain so I got up and out earlier than normal to try to get my 11 miles in.  Thankfully the rain held off and I had 11 amazing miles.

10-25 Long Run 110-25 Long RunThe Run was pretty good until I looked down and realized that my foot had landed right next to a snake.  It was dead having been run over by at least a few cars but that didn’t stop me from doing a crazy jitter bug move down the middle of the road trying to get away from it.  Snakes are not my friends.  The horror!  My skin crawls thinking about it.  I’m such a sissy sometimes.

Weekly Recap for October 20 – 26:

Weekly Recap - 10-20 - 10-26

Miles Ran:  26.3 (down 10.7% from last week)
Total Duration:  4:28:46
Fastest Average Mile:  9:27 (Treadmill) & 9:55 (street)

Shin Splints:

They are getting better and I’ve pulled my distances back trying to give them time to heal while not taking any time off from running.  This week is much better than the previous week which I’m attributing to the fact that I’m staying out of the gym and off the treadmill.  I know it totally seems counter intuitive, but it seems to be working.

Other than the shin splints I’m feeling great.  I may have been bitten by the marathon bug.  I’m starting to think that maybe I should run a full marathon in 2015.  So I’m shopping training plans.  If I do, I’m thinking about running the Modesto Marathon which is at the end of March 2015.  I ran the half last year and PR’ed, so maybe there’s good juju for me there.

Do you have a marathon training plan you can recommend?

What’s the furthest distance you’ve run?  I’ve never run further than 13.1.  Anything past that scares me.

6 thoughts on “By the Numbers…

  1. That website looks pretty cool. I am less than thrilled with the Garmin site and Nike+ has had nothing but problems lately. Great numbers by the way. 🙂
    I absolutely hate snakes! Dead or not. The farthest I’ve run is a half marathon but I am thinking of a 25K in January-yikes!

    1. 25k Sounds awesome! I’m thinking marathon but the furtherst I’ve run is a half too. Maybe 25k is a way to bridge before going full marathon? What’s the name of the race you’re thinking of doing?

  2. I’d like to recommend a marathon training plan, but I’ve used a different plan each time I’ve run one, and couldn’t definitively pick one as a favorite. Just make sure you pick one that you can stick with, and let us know what you choose!

Leave a Reply

