R.I.C.E….

I’m not missing in action, I swear. But it’s been a bit of a tough week for me that’s left me feeling like I didn’t want to blog because I didn’t want to be honest with myself much less anyone else. I don’t want to blog a pretend life where everything is just wonderful and I run a million miles with little effort and I’m always happy.

Generally I am a happy person and often get comments about how I’m always smiling. I like to smile. My job is great, my husband and home life are wonderful. What’s not to smile about?

So here it is…I have shin splints.  Gah!

*Not my shins...
*Not my shins…

Specifically anterior shin splints on both shins.  So painful and annoying.  And I totally blame the treadmill.  It started about a week and a half ago, so I did all my runs last week on the treadmill at the gym thinking that my shin pain was from transitioning to road running from the mill.  I ran 10 miles on Saturday and 3 miles on Sunday on the road with some minor pain but nothing that would have made me not want to run.  In fact the pain would disappear completely after about the first mile on the road and I was basically pain-free for the rest of the run.

This last Monday, I went to the gym to run my regular 4 miles on the treadmill and it was so incredibly painful that I didn’t want to run anymore.  I muscled through the 4 miles and in hindsight it was a grave mistake.  I should have listened to my body and stopped.  Tuesday morning, I got up at my regular time (4am OMG am I crazy?  Don’t answer that) and could barely hobble a single mile.  It was so painful that my mile time was in the 11 min/mile area.  Yesterday was basically the same but with less pain.  This morning was much better.  I ran 2 miles with my compression sleeves and felt that I could easily have run further but I didn’t want to push it.  I’m trying to be cautious.  It’s a new area for me.

So to say the least I’ve been crabby, angry and irritated.  I do not like not being able to run.  I do not like a forced taper mid training cycle.  My poor sweetie…having to put up with me.  I feel for the guy.  You know its got to be tough.  And in the middle of all this crankiness the man buys me a bread maker for no reason at all.  He’s awesome!

In my down time I’ve mainly been feeling sorry for myself and eating a whole lot of stuff I shouldn’t and also doing basic R.I.C.E.  I also need to work on being more diligent with stretching and foam rolling.

Running Recap for last week:

Last Week Recap

I’m super happy with Saturdays long run.  My pace came down from my previous week while my distance increased.

10-18-14 Long Run

I always have a hard time running in the dark so my first two miles were really slow but once the sun started to come up, my times came down considerably.  I did stop to walk when I refueled during miles 5 and 8.  But I’m totally stoked that I was running 10:15’s for miles 4, 6, 7, 10.  Even mile 9 wasn’t too bad.  If this had been my next half I would have come darn close to a new PR.

My mile times for my 9 mile long run the Saturday before were in the high 10’s, low 11’s for the whole run.  Improvement!

Usually on every long run something weird or funny happens.  This week was the fact that I left and realized that I forgot my water bottle.  I had to go back to the house for it and of course, I had to use the rest room again.  I basically had to rewarm up for a second time which is why I think I had two really slow miles that beginning of the run instead of just one like normal.  I know it’s not funny or weird but it’s always something.  Last week some guy stopped me to ask directions to down town and made me all weird and nervous for the rest of my run.  The week before that I slipped in some mud and almost fell on my face.  It’s always something…

Speaking of it always being someing…Sunday I had a very scary experience while running.  I left the house with the plan of running a simple 4 miles, easy run.  No biggie.  But during mile 3 I experienced a very scary cramp in my diaphragm.  I couldn’t get a breath in and the pain was at least a 9 on the scale of 1 to 10.  I actually had to call my sweetie to come pick me up because it was so bad.  I scared the daylights out of him.  I’m pretty sure that he was convinced that I’d been hit by a car or shot or something.  I was gasping for breath and grunting.  I went so far as to lay down on someones lawn to try to stretch out my ribcage.  Awful.  Of course by the time I got picked up and we drove the .25 mile home, the pain was gone and I felt fine.  So annoying!  But I got fancy coffee and a toasted bagel from the coffee shop out of it so it wasn’t a total loss.  And I spent  most of the rest of the day laying on the couch…

IMG_20141019_073056

Less than 30 days until the 2014 Davis Turkey Trot.  As long as I can get my shins to play nice, I’m on track to possibly PR again which would be so awesome.  I haven’t allowed myself to think about this possibility a lot.  I prefer a no pressure training cycle.

What weird things have happened to you on run?  The weirdest was getting passed by a jack rabbit once.  He just looked at me as if to say, “Move your ass, lady.”

Have you every had a close call that involved you having to call home for a ride?

4 thoughts on “R.I.C.E….

  1. Sorry to hear about your shins, at least it sounds like they’re on the mend! I’m not sure what the weirdest thing that’s happened to me on a run, but I did see a pirate riding a bicycle on a long run this summer.

  2. That stinks, but I definitely recommend taking a week or 2 off from running. Otherwise, you risk a stress fracture that will keep you from running for a lot longer! I took two 2 weeks breaks during my last training cycle and it was definitely the best decision. Also, is it time for new shoes? That is more likely to cause this issue than the treadmill!

Leave a Reply

