Turkey Trot Training – Week 4 Recap

Week 4 of training for the 2014 Davis Turkey Trot is in the books and I’m feeling really good about it.  I ran every day last week and even managed to run 4 days outside.  My outside times are still slow compared to what they were before I injured my groin but the times are coming down.  I just have to put in more work then what I was doing before the injury.

Cooler temps will help with my training.  It’s October and it’s still in the mid to upper 90’s here.  Too hot for me.  Mornings are in the mid 50’s as long as I’m up and out the door before 5 am on the weekends.  But I’ve found that in the past when temps start to dip into the 40’s and lower is when my speed really picks up.  Cooler temps mean running so you don’t freeze to death.  I love that feeling of knowing that the air around me is cold but I’m toasty warm and moving.

Sunrise on Sunday after my 4 mile shake out run.
Sunrise on Sunday after my 4 mile shake out run.

Recap:

Monday: 4.51 miles in 43:36 at 9:40 pace (treadmill)
Tuesday: 2.00 miles in 20:17 at 10:07 pace
Wednesday: 5.00 miles in 47:25 at 9:29 pace (treadmill)
Thursday: 2.01 miles in 20:17 at 10:07 pace
Friday: 4 miles in 37:17 at 9:19 pace (treadmill)
Saturday: 8.00 miles in 1:29:03 at 11:08 pace
Sunday: 4 miles in 41:33 at 10:23 pace

Total Miles Ran:  29.5 (up 2.5% from last week)
Miles ran outside:  16

How was your week?

Leave a Reply

