Week 3 Turkey Trot Training Recap & an Interesting Problem…

Monday, Monday, here again. This Monday I’m actually glad to be back a work.  My weekend of running and just hanging around the house was enough for me to look forward to getting back to work.  It was just one of those weekends that was really boring.  Other than run, I didn’t do much besides chores and watch TV, 2 things I don’t really enjoy all that much.

Saturday’s long run was really great.  I got up at 6am and was out the door early only to discover that it had rained over night and the temps had dropped a lot.  Mid-50’s make me really happy.  Plus those mile times are starting to come down, always a bonus.

09-27-14 Long Run

Weekly Recap:

Monday: 4.51 miles in 42:59, 9:32 average pace (Treadmill)

Tuesday:  3.25 miles in 30:00, 9:14 average pace (Treadmill)

Wednesday:  4.01 miles in 38:06, 9:30 average pace (Treadmill)

Thursday: 2.01 miles in 20:25, 10:10 average pace (Outside)

Friday: 4.01 miles in 37:41, 9:24 average pace (Treadmill)

Saturday: 7.00 miles in 1:14:25, 10:38 average pace (Outside)

Sunday: 4.01 miles in 41:54, 10:27 average pace (Outside)

Total miles run: 28.8 in 4:45:30

So on to that “interesting problem.”  I’ve been having terrible heart burn while I’m running.  It’s so bad that the back of my throat is just miserable and I can’t run without taking 2 Tums before hand.  Thankfully the Tums seem to handle the problem but it’s really annoying if I forget to take them.

tums

Friday was so bad that I kept having to take sips of water while I was running to keep the acid from my mouth.  I might be over exadurating it, but boy was it bad.  That burning sensation is just awful.  It doesn’t seem to matter if I eat something or not before I run.  I’ve had this occasionally in the past but this has been going on for at least the last week to 2 weeks.

Anyone deal with terrible heartburn while running?  How do you handle it?

How were your runs last week?  Anyone see anything fun/cool while running?

 

6 thoughts on “Week 3 Turkey Trot Training Recap & an Interesting Problem…

  1. I have heartburn occasionally while running or working out. What has worked for me is making sure to eat a small snack about an hour before (granola bar usually). I have found that for me personally, bananas are a HORRIBLE pre-workout snack – they actually give me heartburn! Everyone is different, but maybe it’ll work for you 🙂

    I can’t wait for even cooler temps. I have been lazy and been on the treadmill instead of running outside, so the most interesting thing I see is my TV 🙂

    1. I’ve found that bananas are terrible too. They’ve been delegated to post workout only due to the heart burn.

      I’ve been running on the mill due to my injury and am transisition to outside. I don’t watch the TV while on the treadmill but I do watch the activity in the parking lot. The best was the day 4 cars backed up at once and came within a whisper of all hitting each other. Scary!

Leave a Reply

