Hit the Road, Jack…

After deciding that I would attempt a road run for a possible half marathon in November, I hit the road for a run bright and early on Saturday morning…well, not bright since it was 5:45 in the morning and the sun wasn’t even up yet.

Sunrise 09-13-2014

I did two laps around my neighborhood before I decided to venture out where there were less lights.  The plan was just to run and see how it felt.  I was seriously worried about being in pain but other than some pain in one of my glutes, I felt good.  It was hot out and as I always do with heat, I struggled.  But I managed to complete a full 5 miles without walking, even if they were slow miles.  But long runs are supposed to be slow so it wasn’t too horriable…or at least that’s what I’m telling myself.

09/13/2014 - 5 miles

11:09 average pace.  It felt so slow since I’ve been running 9:30 or less on the treadmill.  Treadmill running is so much easier than running outside.  But the good news is that I know it doesn’t hurt so this week I’ll be able to pick up the pace.

Fall?  Maybe?

Now I just have to find a balance between running on the road and hitting the gym.  It’s not something I’ve ever had to do before since I haven’t had a gym membership in more than 10 years.

So with what is now Week 1 of Half Marathon Training in the books, here’s the recap:

Monday:  (Treadmill) 3.5 miles, 9:25 pace for 32:59

Tuesday: (Treadmill)  Walk, various inclines for 62 minutes

Wednesday:  (Treadmill) 3.5 miles, 9:27 pace for 33:06

Thursday:  Rest Day

Friday: (Treadmill) 3.5 Miles, 9:17 pace for 32:29

Saturday:  (Road) 5.00 miles, 11:09 pace for 55:48

Sunday:  (Treadmill) 3.12 miles, 9:37 pace for 29:59

One thought on “Hit the Road, Jack…

Leave a Reply

