What I Think About When I Think About Quiting…

Last week was a tough week in life but a great week in running.  My runs were faster, longer and harder in a good way but life was exhausting.  After napping quite a bit on Saturday and a little on Sunday I felt like I’d gained some ground and was almost level again energy wise.  Sunday’s run was a little slower than the runs earlier in the week but honestly, I wanted to conserve some of that new-found energy.

Monday…woke up late for work.  Barely had time for a shower and breakfast and definitely didn’t have time to do my hair.  So I bunned it and did the best I could do.  Got through work and headed to the gym.  It should have been an easy workout with just walking on the treadmill at an incline but I decided that I would go ahead and do Tuesdays planned workout which included adding an additional minute of run time to each interval and decreasing the walk sections by a minute.

08-25-14

I won’t lie.  It was tough.  It was the kind of run where you wonder why you do this, why are you torturing yourself.  It wasn’t that I was running too fast or that the additional minute was too much.  It was that I’ve been pushing too hard.  I’m not ready for back to back runs.  They take too much out of me right now.

When I got up this morning, after tossing and turning all night and not being able to get comfortable, both my legs hurt.  My thighs were tight, my groin was sore and even under my butt check on the pulled goin side was sore.  TMI, sorry.  Not to mention my ankle.  My left ankle has been compensation for my injury and is screaming for relief.  It hurts.  Rotate my ankle at all and it’s crying.

I know that I pushed myself way too far yesterday and today I’m paying the price.  I’m so tired that I didn’t really wake up until 10:45…and I started work at 7am.  I’ve drank an entire pot of coffee by myself.  And I’m still drinking it now.  Normally by this time of day, I’m finishing up my 11k steps for the day but today, I’m not even at 40%.  And the last time I had a full rest day with no gym at all was almost 2 weeks ago.

I think it’s time to pull the plug and take a full rest day.  Hello Tuesday rest day.  Not nearly as fun as Sunday Run day but it’ll do pig, it’ll do.

Wear Your KT Tape to Work Day

Yesterday was wear your KT Tape to work day.  Did you wear yours?  Mine was the ever fashionable KT Pro in Pink, applied last Wednesday.  As a side note, I’d like to say that yes I did wear shoes work and yes I walk around my office without them all the time.  I will blame my hippy mother for that one.  I’d also like to note those muscley calves.  Wooo baby!

1

Truth.

4 thoughts on “What I Think About When I Think About Quiting…

    1. It’s sports tape that helps support injuries. I pulled my groin back at the end of April and it helps with the recovery. It’s great stuff. It supports the muscles and helps with circulation among other things. I don’t get the science of it all. All I know is that it works.

      Hippie chicks unite! lol

  1. I love KT tape but I always get too lazy to put it on and wind up suffering the consequences of not wearing it. Nice job making it through your run though… Those days are the worst. Today st 11:11 I actually made a wish to have a good run hahah

Leave a Reply

