Making Changes to the Same ol’ Same ol’

image

Intervals have been my go to since I joined the gym to use the treadmill for recovery.  5 minute warm up, 10 minute run/5 minute walk x’s 3 and then 5 minute run/5 minute walk for a total of 60 minutes plus a 2 minute cool down.

My leg is getting stronger and while running still hurts, it’s more of a dull throb as I’m getting stronger.  The 10 minute run sections aren’t as hard as they once were and while I’m struggling to get through them it’s more of a mental struggle than a physical struggle.  So yesterday I added a minute to each of the run sections and decreased the walk sections by a minute.  The idea is to keep doing this as the run sections become less challenging until I’m running the whole time.

My gym membership runs out in the middle of October and I’m hoping by that time I’ll be back running for an hour or more by that time.  Goal is to be running a 10 minute mile for distance (or faster, I won’t complain) and possibly be ready for a 5k or at least get back to running outside.  I miss outside so much.  Running on the treadmill is so not as interesting as running outside.  At least the treadmills face the parking lot and I can watch the coming and goings of everyone going to Tractor Supply or the take and bake pizza place next door.

Yesterday’s highlight of the parking lot was a lady in skin-tight sweatpants.  I didn’t know you could get sweat pants that tight.  It looked uncomfortable.  A couple of weeks ago I watched 4 cars all back up at the same time and almost crash into each other.  It’s always a good time watching parking lot craziness.

Running Report for last week:

Monday:  4.25 miles @ 12:13 min/mile – total time:  51.57

Tuesday:  Walk

Wednesday:  5.00 miles @ 12:19 min/mile – total time: 1:01:35

Thursday:  Walk

Friday: 5.00 Miles @ 12:04 min/mile – total time: 1:00:22

Saturday:  Walk

Sunday: 4.99 miles @ 12:25 min/mile – total time:  1:02:00

4 thoughts on “Making Changes to the Same ol’ Same ol’

Leave a Reply

