Weather is Weird & Success in the Gym

They talk about the drought every day on the news. “California is in a drought.” “Worst drought in years.” “We have no water.” “Agh, the apocalypse!!!” Ok, maybe not the last one but incase you haven’t heard and are living under a rock somewhere (congrats on your ability to get internet under that rock), California is in a drought and it’s really bad. Last winter it almost rained zero days.  Honestly, it’s a bit scary.

But my question is this, what’s up with our funky weather?  It’s extremely humid, not Alabama in the summer humid but for California, it’s freaking humid!  Even indoors, it’s humid.  And we’ve had sprinkles of rain several times a week for about the last month.  It rains just enough to mess up your windshield but not enough to even knock down the dust.  Annoying.  Stupid weather gets your hopes up and the laughs.  Mean.

Of course in typical California tradition, we’ve had lots of fires and So Cal has even had a heavy rain and then a mudslide.  But in northern Cal…dry yet wet.  Figure that one out.  Stupid weather.

08-04-14 Workout Summary

I was back in the gym yesterday for the 5th day in a row!  Go me.  Ran my intervals as planned.  Started with a 5 minute warm up walk, then a 1:1 run at about a 10 minute mile.  Then a 2:1 run at about a 10:20 mile and finally a 3:1 run at about an 11 minute mile.  The first set felt really good and I was thrilled to be running at a 10min/mile pace.  But as the set progressed and I got tired & my ability to keep up the pace waned.  But all in all I was really happy with the set.

The groin pull is definitely getting better and I can see progress over just a few weeks ago when I joined the gym.  It was good decision to get off the pavement and on to the softer treadmill surface despite the cost of having to pay for the gym, which I hate.  Running has always been a mostly free activity for me(not counting the cost of shoes, race entries, fun clothes, Garmin’s, Bluetooth headsets, etc.  Runners know what I mean).

This morning my right hip was sore and I think it’s from compensating for the injury on the left side.  But a 800 milligram ibuprofen took are of it.  I know that sounds like a lot but it’s doctor prescribed so I’m ok.

08-04-14 FitBit

I’m feel really good in addition to such a great workout yesterday because I’m off to a great start on my week with my FitBit.  Got double my steps in yesterday and managed to stay on track with my food.  I put on a little weight while I wasn’t running for two months and I can’t seem to get rid of it.  So I’m mostly just trying to be aware of what I’m putting in vs. taking out.

It’s going to take some time to take that weight back off but I’m ok with that.  Good things come to those who work their butts off for it.

original

Leave a Reply

