The Gym or My Place of Salvation…

I have gone to the gym every day this month! Yes, I know that today’s only the 4th but still. Every day.  And I haven’t gone today because I go after work but I’m going to go…See?  Every day.

08-03-14 Gym

Yesterday I walked on the treadmill.  No running but I am taking full advantage of the incline to get my heart rate up and really get a good workout in.  My groin pull is feeling better with only the occasional twinge while walking. Running is another story but there is progress even if it’s slow.

I’m planning to hit the gym again today after work.  The plan is intervals.  Before I left for my mini vacation a couple of weeks ago, I was working on a 1:1, 2:1 & 3:1 interval plan.  I’ve been using KT Tape to help support the injury and feel like it’s working, even if it’s just psychological.  So the plan for todays workout is the same; 1:1, 2:1 & 3:1 intervals.  It starts with 5 minutes running with 5 recovery and works up to 15 running with 5 recovery.

My mile times are high; in the 11 to 12 minute range.  It’s hard to deal with such “high” times.  When I injured myself I was running 9:40’s at race pace and feeling awesome.  The day that I got hurt, I felt like I could run forever.  Sometimes I have to remind myself that I am recovering from an injury and it takes time.  The point is to get stronger and not make my injury worse.

08-03-14 Buster

Just for fun, a picture of Buster wearing my sparkly headband.  He can really pull off this look, don’t you think?

2 thoughts on “The Gym or My Place of Salvation…

Leave a Reply

