Intervals…

I read a fair amount of blogs almost every day. Some I’m a religious reader of and some I read every once in while. One of the ones that I read often is Loving on the Run.  Sara is great & she talks about what a lot of run bloggers talk about, running, training, what we’re eating, what we’re not eating and just life in general.  But yesterday I was trolling around the internet looking for workouts I could do at the gym in hopes that someone else had already done the work and I wouldn’t have to do any.  And Sara had.

1-Hour-Interval-Workout

On her workouts page she has a section for Injury Recovery…Um perfect.  I’m recovering from an injury.  In case I haven’t mentioned it, I pulled my groin.  And by mentioned I mean whined about it.  A lot.  I whine about it to anyone that will listen.  I’m pretty sure that as soon as my husband hears the words, “my leg” he starts hearing Charlie Browns teacher, Wah wah wah wah.

Since yesterday was Wednesday and Wednesday is normally my regular run day, I really wanted to hit the gym again.  But what I don’t want to do is push my body so far that I end up hurting myself worse.  I’m slowly getting better so let’s not kill ourselves, shall we?  Thank you.

When I saw Sara’s interval run/walk work out I thought it was perfect for what I want to do yesterday.  Run/walk, nothing to difficult.

07-16-2014 Interval Training

I completed the workout but it was a lot tougher that I thought it was going to be.  Of course I based that assumption on pre-injury standards.  The last 5 minute run was the toughest part.  I had to talk myself into it.  “Just 5 minutes, you can do that.”  “Just 4 minutes, you can do that.”  And on and on right up until the last 30 seconds.  I’ll be honest, I thought this workout was going to be easy but it turned out to be anything but.  But I finished and I finished strong.  And I’m really happy with the results.  Almost 5 miles…of course if I’d noticed that I was at 4.98, I would have walked a bit longer to get it to 5 miles.  But at this point, I’m thrilled with 4.98 miles.  It’s the longest run I’ve had in quite some time.

20140716_165943

Post gym I treated myself with a Outshine Lime bar.  Tasty, tasty and it won’t ruining my calorie burn at only 70 calories.  Guilt free!  I deserved it.

I’m making progress.  Slow progress but hey, time was going to pass anyway so why not get to work.

Do you have any injury recovery advice/workouts that you prefer?

What’s your favorite post gym/workout treat?

2 thoughts on “Intervals…

Leave a Reply

