I Joined a Gym…

Anytime Fitness

I joined a gym yesterday. I belonged to a crossfit gym for about 6 months late last year and into February this year but gave it up when I started to get serious about my running again.  But with the groin pull, I’m having a very hard time getting back to my running.  I can only run about a mile right now and it’s a pretty slow one.

My work is about 2.5 miles from my house and I drive past the Anytime Fitness every day.  It’s less than a mile from my house and I could easily walk or run it.  But the motivation behind joining the gym is the treadmills and the ellipticals.  I’m really hoping that running on the mill will be easier for my leg.

The price wasn’t bad, but wasn’t awesome cheap either.  I joined only for 3 months with the thought process that it’s hotter than the sun here right now, so I need to get through the summer months and then I can hit the streets again.  For 3 months I paid $135, plus a $50 activation fee for the key fob that allows you 24 hour access.  I wasn’t thrilled about the $50 activation fee but I guess that motivates people to not lose their fob.

It has been years and years since I ran on a mill.  I had one at home for a very long time but gave it away when I discovered the joy of running outside (another reason to not join for more than 3 months).  I’m not sure I can handle more than 3 month of running on the mill.

I’m not really planning on using the weights all that much but I might.  I don’t want to rule it out.  I really need a personal trainer to work with me if I’m going to be doing weights because I don’t have a clue how to use a lot of those machines.  Fingers crossed that I don’t kill myself.

Confession:

I once had a free pass to use a very fancy gym where I used to live in Napa.  Of course I head straight to the treadmills.  I hope on, I’m running everything is going fine and then, I step half on the belt and half on the edge of the mill, you know, that part that the belt is running over but it isn’t moving?  Yeah.  I basically flew off the mill and landed in a heap in front of the machine that was behind me.  I didn’t get hurt but it was so embarrassing.  The staff comes running over, making a huge fuss.  Oh pride, sometimes you come after a fall.

Pros for joining a gym:

This one doesn’t seem to be very busy during the time I would be using it.  (4am to 5am and/or 3:30pm to 5pm)

Bathrooms, clean and they have a shower

A girl only area for stretching and using yoga mats

24 hour access even when the gym isn’t staffed

 

Cons for joining a gym:

I have to pay for what I used to do for free outside or at home

Dealing with other people – Known introvert over here (this should not be news to my family and friends)

The very real possibility of making a fool of myself in public…but really that’s anytime, anywhere.

 

What’s your worst gym confession?

 

3 thoughts on “I Joined a Gym…

  1. Hand to god… I embodied your “making a fool of myself in public” *just yesterday* at the gym. I had just finished a great treadmill run, and was feeling very proud of myself. As I stepped off the treadmill, the damn belt started moving again. I somehow got the TIP OF MY SHOE trapped in the gap between the belt and the back of the treadmill structure. After about 30 seconds of the treadmill emitting a noise usually reserved for fighter jet afterburners, the formerly-proud-of-himself embarrassed guy (me) finally freed himself. Gotta hand it to those gym workers, though… their guy-trapped-in-a-treadmill response time was damn impressive.
    Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

