I’m Not Dead…

I’m still alive and still not running. After several doctors appointments and physical therapy, I pulled my groin muscle at Capital City Classic almost a week and a half ago. I took all of last week off from work but am back & slaving away like a good public servant.

Sleepy, Sleepy

I spent last week lounging in my jammies, drinking coffee and cuddling doggies…becuase I couldn’t do anything else!  Ugh!  Injuries suck.  My left leg was so painful that even sleeping was painful.  Sneezing was pretty much out of the question.  Did you know that when you sneeze, pretty much all your muscles contract including pulled ones?  Ouch.

Galloway Pullover

In addition to drinking coffee and cuddling doggies, I also worked on my Galloway Pullover.  Little known fact…I like to knit.  I go to sleep at 9pm and knit.  It’s official, I’m a little old lady.  Plus for the last week, I’ve smelled like one too.  Tiger Balm is my friend except that the dogs hate the smell and refuse to sit with me.  I guess you can’t have it all.  In the week I was off work, I knit the whole body of the sweater and 80% of one sleeve.  It’s not that I’m a fast knitter, it’s just that there was nothing else I could really do.  I unloaded the dishwasher once and it took 30 minutes.  And did you know that there is nothing on TV during the day?!  True story, bro.  Ugh.  Thank god for Netflix and BBC mini series.

I went back to work yesterday.  I’m up and hobbling around but I cannot, cannot do stairs.  Too painful.  After work yesterday I was so exhausted, I slept for 2 hours in the living room chair.  The hours from 6pm until 8pm did not exist.  I was out cold.  It’s really hard when your whole body is trying to compensate for an injury.

The sports medicine doc said that I could be out up to 6 weeks.  And that means no Avenue of the Vines Half on the 18th.  I haven’t run at all but I am starting to have a lot less pain.  I miss running so much and of course this months Runners World showed up last week.  I haven’t even looked at it yet.  Reading it would be like showing drugs to an addict.  And that’s just mean.  Not to mention that I got an e-mail that my Stride Box is on its way.  Booo.  Pure torture.

Right now I’m choosing to leave everything up in the air regarding running.  I’m not saying I won’t run Avenue of the Vine.  I’m not saying I will.  I’m not saying I won’t try for a few 1 mile runs between now and whenever.  I’m just going to go on how I feel.  Today I feel much better than I did yesterday and walking is becoming much easier.  Time will pass no matter what I do, so staying positive is key.

Bustie & Me

And it never hurts to cuddle a cute dachshund!

12 thoughts on “I’m Not Dead…

  1. Oh no! Hope your injury heals up quickly. I’m right there with you. I did 2 weeks on the bike due to injury and took last week off completely in anticipation of getting back to running this week… but now I have bronchitis and will be off from working out completely for at least another 2 weeks! I was ok being off for injury, but now I’m ready to get back at it and it’s so frustrating. Hope you’re pain-free very soon.

    1. Oh my gosh, that sounds terriable. I hope you feel better soon.

      I’m considering getting my bike out of the storage shed to a ride. Poor thing never sees the sun anymore.

  2. HERE YOU ARE! I was just thinking about you and wondering how you were feeling. (Hence why I’m here!) I’m so sorry to hear about the pain and the running hiatus, but keeping a positive outlook is the best thing you can possibly do! Definitely don’t make any rash decisions right now because you never know what might happen. Sending lots of get well vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

