Capital City Classic Race Recap

 

Capital City Classic 10 Mile came off without a hitch…well there was one hitch but I’ll get to that.  First let’s start on Saturday.

Saturday morning, I got up early and drove up to Garcia Bend Park to get my pre race shake out run in.  I ran 4.45 miles in 41:52.  Despite having some tightness in my left hamstring, the run felt good and I was really happy with my time.  I spent most of the rest of the day eating good, healthy meals and making sure that I got plenty of carbs to be prepared for Sunday.  I hit the bed about 9pm because I knew that I was going to have to get up at 5 in order to have enough time to eat breakfast and drive to downtown.

5am came very early but I was up and feeling good for my race.  I got dressed and had a full breakfast before I hit the road.  Downtown only takes about 30 minutes on a Sunday morning and I was able to get there early enough to get decent on street parking for free.  Yay for free.

StartThe start was just a little bit late, about 3 minutes but I was so happy when it did start because it was cold this morning.  It was actually raining on my drive to downtown, enough that I had to run the wipers.  The course was pretty hill with the first one immediately after the start.  My hamstring was tight and the up hills were pretty tough but I was doing good.

Running Tower Bridge

One of the highlights of the race was running the iconic Tower Bridge.  We crossed the bridge at about mile 2.5.  I’d really been looking forward to it because the last time I crossed it on foot was two years ago during my first Half Marathon, Sham’rockin.  And at the point I crossed the bridge, I was in serious pain and was ready for it to be over.  It wasn’t an enjoyable moment.  But today made up for that.  I was ear to ear smile.  I enjoyed every minute of it.

I Street Bridge Approach

After touring around West Sacramento, including The River Walk and some cute neighbor hoods, we hit the approach to the I Street Bridge.  Saying it’s steep is an understatement.  It was really tough and people were stopping to walk all around me.  I held out even though I had to really slow to make it to the top without walking.

Downtown from I Street BridgeTower Bridge from I Street Bridge

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s where the hiccup comes in.  After crossing the I Street Bridge, we headed down a pretty steep road to connect to the Sacramento River Parkway, Discovery Park & the American River Parkway.  I’m cruising down the ramp and all of a sudden, huge pain in my inner thigh.  It was right around mile, 6 when the pain came.

I still had 4 miles to go, I was feeling great, plenty of energy and loving my run, except for this new pain.  I think my body just couldn’t handle all the down hill.  I limped my way through the next 4 miles and was so happy to see the finish even before I got there.  I was in a ton of pain.  My mile times went from 10 min/mile at the 10k split to 10:30’s and one that was almost an 11 min mile.  I was hurting.

In the Finishing Shoot

My sweetie came up for the finish and grabbed this picture of me just before crossing the finish line.  Normally I sprint for the finish and I did speed up but the pain my thigh was just too great for any real speed.  But I did grin from ear toear when I saw my sweetie.  It was such a nice treat to have him at the finish line.

Medal

So one pulled groin muscle later, I finished in 1:41:35.  Despite the ouchy, I still finished well within my initial time frame (1:40 to 1:50). I’m thrilled with the outcome but I’m bummed about the pulled muscle.

Results

Now the question is, how long is this going to take to heal?  It’s horrible to hobble around the house.  Other than the pull, I feel great.  I’m so happy with my performance and if this had been a half marathon, I would have pr’d again even with the injury.

Did you race this weekend?  How’d you do?

Have you ever pulled your groin?  How’d you cope with it?

12 thoughts on “Capital City Classic Race Recap

  1. OH NO!! I’m so sorry about your strain. 😦 You did so amazingly even dealing with all the pain for the last several miles! I would say probably for the next few days just rest, ice the heck out of it, and take ibuprofen.

    I hope you are feeling better soon! You look so strong in the finish pic you would never know that you were hurting!

    1. That pic definitely doesn’t tell the whole story. I was so excited to see my hubby I was all smiles. He doesn’t get to come to my races often, so it was a special treat for me.

  2. Hi there! I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award–you can check it out on my blog. Thanks so much for your great posts!

Leave a Reply

