The Best Laid Plans…

ccc-bib-preview-2014-300x300

3 more days until the Capital City Classic. Mentally, I think I’m ready.  Physically, I’m still recovering from being sick.  But the good news is that I feel sooooo much better today than I have since last week.  My energy is back and fingers crossed, I won’t have to take a nap in my car at lunch time today.  Ugh.  I hate having to do that.  Despite the nap it always seem to leave me more drained then before I fell asleep.

Today is a rest day for me and I’m glad it was because I totally forgot to even set the alarm to get me up for work.  Thankfully Kitty was on the job and she got me up at 5:15.  It was still 15 minutes later than I normally get up but better than waking up at 7 and having 30 minutes to get dressed and drive over.  I never would have made it.

CCC Weather

The weather is looking better and better for sunday.  They were calling for sunny and now they’re predicting overcast.  I love it.  Fingers crossed for a cool race.  I have no plan other than to treat this as a long run/training run for my half that is coming up next month, The Avenue of the Vines.

I’d like to finish around the 1:40 mark for 10 miles.  My last 10 mile long run was on March 9th and I finished in 1:51:43, average pace 11:09.  That was more than a month ago and I like to think that I’ve improved some speed wise since then.  I’m hoping to have a pace closer to the 10 minute/mile pace.  I don’t want to kill myself so I’m planning to do as I always do on my training runs, start out slow and get progressively faster over the course of the race.  Of course we all know what they say about the best laid plans, “The best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry.”

Do you like to plan out how you’ll race?  Or are you just a go with the flow racer?

What’s your favorite post race treat?

7 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. I like to plan out a goal time and then go mile by mile after that. If I don’t, then I risk disappointing myself at the beginning and not performing as well as I could. At the finish of each mile, I plan my next mile time based on the previous performance, speeding up to make up time or slowing to allow some self preservation. I should probably plan a little better by other peoples’ standards, but I firmly believe you have to do what works for you!

    1. No, I love that. I never thought about doing a mile by mile. Usually I’m just lolly gagging along totally unaware that anything is happening other than the fact that I’m running. Genius!

  2. I think you’re going to do great! I definitely prefer overcast conditions too. 🙂
    I am also a big planner. I watch the weather like a hawk, map runs however I can and if it’s convenient I’ll go drive the course. (I did this last night for a possible 5K coming up and managed to scare myself out of it a little because SERIOUS ROLLING HILLS.)

Leave a Reply

