Looking Good…

All things considered, it’s looking good for Sunday. Hubby is going to be out-of-town again so no race support for me this weekend. Not that I need it but it’s always nice to know that someone you love is waiting for you at the end of the race.

Caution

Use caution when approaching a tapering runner…oh yes.  I have been so crabby and irritated and moody this week.  Earlier this week I almost had a temper tantrum in my kitchen due to the mess that had accumulated at the end of the bar.  I was barely able to stop  myself from throwing myself on the floor and kicking my arms and legs like a little child denied a sweet.  I’m unbearable when I’m like this.  You know it’s bad when you don’t even want to be around yourself.  But I’m doing my best to hold it all together and so far no one has gotten hurt.

Running of the Elks Weather

The weather is looking like it’s going to be very similar to the weather two weeks ago for the Modesto Marathon, lows in the upper 40’s and highs in the upper 70’s.  However, Running of the Elks has an 8am start vs. the 7am start for Modesto.  I’m not thrilled about starting at 8am.  All my training runs start at 7am on the weekends and in this case I’m worried about it getting too hot before I’d done.  Am I worried about heat that isn’t going to happen?  Yes.  Will I be fine with the 8am start?  Yes.  Am I being a silly, self-doubting girl?  Yes.

I’m sure that the temperature will be fine.  Even with an 8am start, I’m planning to be done in 2 hours, 15 minutes which means I’ll be done shortly after 10am.  No biggie.  10am is still early enough that it will be in 50’s.  It’s not like it’s going to be 80 degrees at the start.  Even though I know that the weather will be fine no matter what, I will be stalking the weather to keep on top of it.

Clothing wise, I fully intend to wear capri’s and a short sleeve shirt for the race.  My visor is a must since the course has no trees on it and I hate the sun in my eyes.  Even if it’s not hot, having the sun in my eyes can make being outside unbearable for me.  Visor & sunglasses are a must for me.

Fueling plan last race was 15 minutes before the start and then every 45 minutes after that.  But that didn’t work for the second half of the race.  I don’t want to wait to fuel until I feel like I need to because at that point, it’s too late.  I’m already bonking.  So the tentative plan for this race, is 15 minutes before and every 40 minutes after that for at least 2 cycles.  After that, then I might switch to every 35 minutes depending on how I feel.

Wednesday Run

Yesterdays weather was very strange.  I feel like we’re starting to be like the Bay Area around here.  If you don’t like the weather, wait 5 minutes and it will change.  In the morning I went to work in a dress, thick tights, boots, rain jacket, scarf and gloves.  By the afternoon, my run was done in shorts and a tank top.  And I sweated it up a lot.

Wednesday Run 2

Last night was a 45 minute run with speed work.  My speed work is sporadic it best.  I tend to go out and just run as fast as I can and try to have negative splits.  For some reason I can never remember that I’m supposed to run as fast as I can and then slow and repeat.  4.73 in 45 minutes with an average pace of 9:30 was pretty dang good for me.  I could tell I was working pretty hard but since the wind was blowing it was hard to tell if the accelerated heart rate was from actually running fast or if it was from dealing with head winds.  I think it was a bit of both.

April Abs

Hubby and I both did yesterdays FitFluential April Abs plank.  35 seconds wasn’t much compared to what I had been doing a month ago so it was totally doable.  I don’t think Hubby was impressed at my messing around during the plank while he struggled.  I’ve been there, I get what he’s dealing with but sometimes you have to mess around to keep things interesting.

Race strategy?  Do you have one…besides try not to die?

4 thoughts on “Looking Good…

  1. Mostly I just always have to remind myself to go out sloooooow. I tend to take off like mad and run out of steam fast. Okay during a 5K, but not so much during a half. Good luck this weekend! It looks like you are going to have some great weather!

  2. I wish I was more strategic when I race. Usually I just plan to make myself keep going even though I want to stop, and not compare myself to other people. If I stick with those goals I usually finish proud.

Leave a Reply

