Pre Race Jitters? Who me?

Pretty Princess Pink Nails

 Stopped on my way home last night to get my nails done.  My old nail polish was in bad shape because I couldn’t keep myself from picking at it.  Gel nail polish is like a plastic more than a traditional polish and I couldn’t stop myself from picking it off.  Because I’m a 12-year-old girl, I got sparkly pink polish.  I know I’m 38 but some times it just feels right to be 12 again.

Since I got gel polish again, my nails were dry before I left the salon.  When I got home I changed my clothes and headed out for a run.

03-20-14 Splits

I went out just fine at 10 min/mile but about half way through mile 2 I had a wicked side cramp and heart burn.  I didn’t realize it at the time but I had increased my mile time by more than 30 seconds.  I can run a 9:30 mile but yesterday it just didn’t agree with me.  I think it was a couple of factors that cause it.

1.  I hadn’t eaten anything since 3pm and it was now after 6.  I need fuel to run.  It’s a proven fact.

2.  Heat.  It was 78 degrees here yesterday afternoon.  And there wasn’t much of a breeze to help keep me cool.  Me and heat don’t get along.  I tend to get fainty.  I once fainted at a renissance fair due to heat.  Thankfully when  I passed out, I fell into the guy in front of me and he was quick thinking and was able to grab me.  So embrassing.

Thankfully I was able to slow my pace to more of a 10 min/mile pace and the cramp went away.  The heartburn did not.  But that’s doable.  The cramp was really uncomfortable.  It was on my right side, lower almost on the front of my rib cage.  So annoying.

Right now I’m hoping that this isn’t  a precursor to the Half on Sunday.  It’s 1 day and 21 hours and 59 mintues away (give or take).  Sunday is going to be fine.  No bad omens.  No pre race jitters.

Originally, I was planning to run this race fast and shoot for a 2:20 or 2:25 finish.  But the more I think about it and get advice from more experienced races, I think I’m going to pull back and go for a 2:29:00 finish time or at least a time between 2:25 and 2:29.  At my last half marathon 2 years ago, I finished in 2:29:30.  And I’d like to beat that time without killing myself.  This is a training run, not a race.  My real race is still two weeks a way.

Week 5 Long Run Splits

I have been looking at last weeks long run for inspiration and to remind myself that I’m prepped for this run.  I only had three miles that were 11 minutes or over and 2 of those were at times I was fueling.  I will slow down a lot to fuel because I can’t breathe through my nose which means that some times I will walk or slow to a very slow jog.

I maintained a 10:55 average pace for this run but there are factors that I can’t control when racing that don’t apply to your long runs.  Race traffic isn’t an issue at home but it is during the race.  The lucky run was proof of that.  During that race 7 mile/7k group was so crowded that my first mile was 1:11 min/mile and by the last mile when I was basicly alone except for getting passed by the eleits from the Half, was 9:47 min/mile.  Obviously traffic was a factor there.

I’m planning to take my small hand bottle to avoid the water stations as much as possable.  Traffic around the aid stations can get a bit crazy.  I figure I will only need water after 9 or 10 miles.  I plan to hit the tables at the back of the line to avoid any kind of congestion.

No matter what happens on Sunday, I am going to run my own pace and my own race.

4 thoughts on “Pre Race Jitters? Who me?

Leave a Reply

