Monday, Monday, So Good to me

It’s another beautiful day in sunny California.  It’s a bit colder than it has been, 55 degrees on my way in this morning but still a gorgeous start to the day.  Yesterday was beautiful that I was really grateful that my work day ends at 4pm and leaves me plenty of time to spend outside before it gets too dark.

Hubbs and I have been working on the landscaping in our back yard for over a year now and about a week and half ago the new lawn went in.  And it has made such a difference in our yard.  It’s actually livable out there now.

New Lawn

Only half of our back yard is grass, the other half I have a garden area with 3 – 12′ x 3′ raised beds and 1 – 6′ x 3′ raised bed.  The little bed has my herbs in it, one big bed is all flowers and the other two beds I plant veggies in.  But since we’ve been working on the other half of the yard my garden has gone to pot a bit.  The weeds were so tall that the dogs were getting lost in them and I never knew if the dogs were going to come back.

Yesterday after work was so nice that instead of walking the dogs, I pulled out the shovels, hoes, rakes and the yard waste can and started working on pulling all the weeds up.  Hubs came home right after I got started and helped.  We worked for about an hour and a half and got most of the garden cleaned up.  The plan is to put decomposed granite in between the beds so that we don’t have a weed problem anymore.  We still have a bit more work to do but the weather was perfect for working in the garden.

After we quit in the garden I changed and got my run in.  It was a four mile run but the wind was really blowing so I expected it to be a horrible pain.  But it wasn’t.  Any time the wind blows, I run faster than I intend to.

Monday Run

4 miles in 38:53?!  Oh baby, I was flying.  BTW, I hope you like my mid run selfie.  I was cracking up the whole time.

Splits:

Mile 1: 10:11
Mile 2: 9:46
Mile 3: 9:34
Mile 4: 9:20

Negative splits, baby!!!  I could tell I was pushing it but I didn’t expect it to be that fast.  Usually I only get that low in the 9’s when it’s really cold and I’m just running to stay warm.  Despite the winds, the run was great.  The sun was shining, the birds were singing, it was perfect.

Lucky Run Finish

The professional shots from the Lucky Run were out last week and I actually bought them.  They offered a deal, $25 for all the pictures of you in digital format.  I never buy the pictures because they want to dang much but for $25 I sprung for it.  The only picture that was decent was my finish picture.  So now you know, I am not pretty when I run.  I’m red, sweaty and my hair is frizzy.  But I’m a happy girl so I’m willing to let the rest of it go.

Happy Tuesday, people!  I hope the weather where you are is as beautiful as it is here in Northern California!

Leave a Reply

