Race Packet Pick Up Day…

2013-lucky-run-logo

Race packet pick up day is my favorite day.  I love getting my bib and my shirt and any other goodies the race is offering.  It’s so exciting, the prospect of it all.  I spend the day wondering how I’m going to run, how big is the field, is it going to be too hot, too cold…all the things that could go wrong (but likely won’t) like parking, being late, will I have to use the porta potty (yes).  So many possibilities.

I’ve done the prep work for this race.  I’m prepared.  It’s only a 7k, not a half.  I got this.  My best 7k at home was done in 42 minutes and some change.  I’m under no delusion that I will finish this race in that time just because of things like getting stuck behind slower runners who like to run 3 a breast on a narrow trail or people who like to suddenly walk right in front of you.  But I know that I will do fine.  I’m aiming to keep about a 10:30 pace and not go out like a crazed dog.  Since this is my first race in two years, I just want it to be a fun one, an enjoyable one.

9199_Capital City_10 Mile_Approval

A while back I signed up for the NorCal Tour de FIT series.  It’s a series of races designed to help people keep active.  I agreed to sign up and run three races between February and July 2014.  I had already signed up for The Lucky Race and Running of the Elks and I need one more race.  I had two to choose from two as part of the series, one at the end of April (two weeks after Running of the Elks) and one in the middle of July.  I don’t like to race that far into summer so I signed up for the Capital City Classic at the end of April.  The race offers a 5k, a 10k & a 10 miler.  I signed up for the 10 mile race.  I thought it would be a great way to keep my mileage up after Running of the Elks half marathon.

For right now my race schedule looks like this:

03/08 – Lucky Run 7K

04/06 – Running of the Elks Half Marathon

04/27 – Capital City Classic 10 Miler

I’m hoping to add something in May too but right now I haven’t found anything that fits my schedule that isn’t crazy far away.  Or right when Hubby and I are going to have a get away to the Central Coast.  I’d like to add an additional Half some time this year but it might have to wait until later in the year, say a fall race to early winter.

20140307_075451

On a side note not related to racing/running…I got my first gel manicure last night.  I loved it.  So cool that it was dry before I left the salon and I didn’t have to worry about messing it up.  I also got a pedicure so that my toes look nice for the open toed heels I’m wearing for the fund-raiser tomorrow night.  Hopefully I don’t mess it up between now and the party.

Also on a non-racing side note but related to Running, if you like Brooks shoes and running clothes, Zulily has a great deal on right now.  I picked up a pair Tile Blue & Lime Punch Pure Cadence 2 Running Shoes, two tank tops, a long sleeve shirt & a pair of Capris pretty cheap this morning.

120134_763_a_ZMI’ve been wanting to try Brooks for a while but was having trouble locally finding them in my weird shoe size.  So getting a deal on them is awesome.

Are you racing this weekend?

What are your favorite brands of running shoes/gear?

3 thoughts on “Race Packet Pick Up Day…

    1. I have Mizuno Wave Syonara and I love them so hard but they aren’t the best for my long runs due to the fact that I have basicly no padding on the bottoms of my skinny feet. So annoying.

      Athleta is by far my fav too. They have a store about an hour away from me and when I’m in the area I love to go and touch all their stuff. But most of the time I purchase other brands because I’m on a serious running budget right now and am generally only purchasing off the clearance rack. But their quality is amazing and their stuff lasts forever.

      1. I also try to go for Athelta sales, buying at full price gets too expensive. I haven’t tried the Sayonara, but the Wave Riders are great for long runs because they have enough padding (for me) and they are still light. For shorter/faster runs I wear some of the Brooks Pure line, maybe those are comparable to the Sayonara in terms of support/padding.

Leave a Reply

